It was a great honour and privilege being Head Girl of Hamilton College. It was definitely the highlight of my school career. I enjoyed having the unique and valuable opportunity to be in the position to have a positive influence on the workings of the school.

Marianne Watters
Head Girl 2010/2011


Stay Connected

Help Set a New World Record!

MAF still needs more volunteers to help set a new world record! The Zip Slide will cross the racecourse from...

09 Apr, 2014

Multilingual Debate at Heriot Watt University

Twelve Higher and Advanced Higher French/German pupils attended a prestigious event at Heriot Watt...

07 Apr, 2014

News Homepage
S3 Visit to France

The S3 visit to France will depart Sun 4 May and return Sat 10 May.

04 May, 2014

Friends of Hamilton College Meeting

Friends of Hamilton College Meeting

12 May, 2014

Events Homepage

Senior School Staff List





Art Head of Department Mr Alan Wilson
Art Teacher* Mrs Jane Roy
Biology Head of Department Mrs Shelda Pirie
Biology Teacher Mrs Eleanor Bell
Biology Teacher Mrs Elizabeth Dunn 
Business Studies/Computing Head of Department#  Mrs Heather Stark 
Business Studies/Computing Teacher  Mr David Browning 
Business Studies/Computing Teacher* Miss Michelle Scott
Chemistry  Head of Department  Mrs Shelda Pirie 
Chemistry  Teacher  Mrs Lorna Tweedie 
English  Head of Department  Mr Derek Hotchkiss 
English  Teacher  Mrs Anne Duncanson
English  Teacher  Mrs Jane Cooke 
English  Teacher  Miss Natalie Reid 
Geography  Teacher  Mr Stuart Jack
Geography Teacher*  Mr Andrew Lang 
History, Modern Studies & Geography  Head of Departments  Mrs Aileen MacKay 
History and Modern Studies  Teacher  Mrs Louise Blackstock 
History and Modern Studies  Teacher  Mrs Maureen Hewitt
Mathematics  Head of Department  Mr Mark Shields
Mathematics  Teacher  Miss Judith Barron 
Mathematics Teacher Miss Lindsay Brynes
Mathematics Teacher* Mrs Emma Borthwick
Mathematics Teacher* Mrs Clare Ford
Modern Languages & Classics Head of Depatment Mr David Summerville
Modern Languages & Classics Teacher Mr Rod McLaren
Modern Languages & Classics Teacher* Mrs Judith Ford
Modern Languages & Classics Teacher* Ms Heike Ulferts
Modern Languages & Classics Teacher (+ Classics) Mr Gordon Leiper
Modern Languages & Classics Teacher (Classics) Mr Colin Caldwell
Music Head of Department Miss Lorna Hardie
Music Teacher* Mrs Christine Robertson
Music Teacher* Miss Megan Johnston
Music Teacher* Mr Michael McEneny
Physical Education Head of Department Mr Scott Borthwick
Physical Education Teacher Mrs Helen Ferry
Physical Education Teacher Mrs Jenifer Lennox
Physics Head of Department Dr Paul Bergin
Physics Teacher Mr Mark Allan
Religious Education Head of Department* Mr Stuart Crawford
Religious Education Teacher Mr Stuart Ross
Technology  Head of Department Mr Andrew Cunningham 

* Part-time member of staff
+ Staff member with teaching commitments in another department

Italics - Temporary Staff

# On Maternity leave for part of 2013/2014